Schooling in Pajamas

Pasta, Sausage & Bean Soup (A Curves Recipe)

I recently rejoined Curves after being gone from there for a couple of years. I love the fact that it is only women when you work out, that it is only a thirty minute workout, and contrary to what many people think it does work you out. This time I am able to do six months using their complete program which includes online support, one on one coaching, and of course a planned online menu. This recipe comes from my Curves Complete menu. It is yummy!!


*Keep in mind this recipe is for one person. I doubled mine (well maybe tripled LOL) for three of us to eat and maybe have a small bowl leftover.


Pasta, Sausage & Bean Soup

Ingredients:
1/3 TB olive oil
1 oz. Italian sausage
1/3 medium onion, diced
1/2 large carrot
1 1/4 celery stock
3/4 garlic cloves
1/4 tsp basil
1/4 tsp rosemary
1/8 tsp red pepper flakes
10 oz. chicken stock
3 oz. diced tomato with juice
3 oz. kidney beans (cooked and drained)
1 oz. whole wheat macaroni

Directions:

  1. Remove casting from Italian sausage. Heat oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add sausage and saute until beginning to brown, breaking up with back of spoon, about 5 minutes.
  2. Dice onion, carrots, and celery and minced garlic. Add chopped vegetables, garlic, basil, rosemary and crushed red pepper. Saute until vegetables begin to soften, about 10 minutes.
  3. Add broth, tomatoes with their juices and beans. Bring soup to boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.
  4. Add macaroni to soup and simmer until tender, about 8 minutes.
  5. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Curves tips: 3 oz of kidney beans = 1/3 cup
1 oz pasta= 1/4 cup dry pasta= 1/2 cup cooked pasta


pastasausagesoup1

For the Italian sausage, I used a small package of bulk ground sweet Italian sausage. The package was not quite a pound.
Vegetables wise, I used a whole onion, 1 celery stalk, and several handfuls of already shredded/matchstick carrots which I cut into smaller pieces. The garlic was the minced kind in a jar you get at the grocery store. The basil and rosemary were dried.

pastasausagesoup2

I used a whole can of kidney beans drained and used half a can of petite diced tomatoes with the whole can of juice. The chicken I just eyeballed it because once the pasta was added it didn’t look like enough. All together I put about 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth.

pastasausagesoup3

This is the finished product. I did not use macaroni pasta but instead I used a gluten-free spiral pasta. The pasta cooks in the same amount of time and to me it doesn’t taste any different.

pastasausagesoup4


This has become one of my favorite soups. It is hardy, a slight kick due to the pepper flakes but not overwhelming, and the sweetness of the sausage is yummy.

I don’t have the nutrition info as that was not included in original recipe.

I hope you enjoy this hearty soup as much as I did. Let me know if you make it and your thoughts on it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment.

Tower's Travels

Capturing and sharing memories of places visited.

Wildflowers and Marbles

Finding Splendor in the Ordinary

Point University Marching Skyhawks

Excellence Determination Innovation

