Schooling in Pajamas

Mini Shepherd’s Pie

Several month’s ago, I got reminiscing about foods I used to fix and why it is that I don’t fix them anymore. If picky eater was one of your guesses then you are right. The one dish I remember fixing and being a favorite of mine is Shepherd’s Pie. I can’t find the recipe I used to use because somewhere in one of our moves, it decided not to stay with us. So I did what I usually do lately and took to Pinterest to find me a recipe. I found several that looked good but the one that caught my eye was for mini pies. Who wouldn’t like a cute mini pie to grace their plate?

I didn’t take photos while I was getting my pies ready but I have a finished picture.

shepherdspie

Not much to look at but they sure were yummy!


Here is the basis for my dish. For some reason mine looks like I have a gravy in mine but to be honest I really don’t remember the exact recipe I used. The following recipe is one I have on my Pinterest board and since I remember looking at my phone for the recipe, I am sharing this from http://www.tablespoon.com.

INGREDIENTS

1 box Pillsbury™ refrigerated pie crusts, softened as directed on box
1 1/2 cups Green Giant™ Steamers™ frozen mixed vegetables
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 medium yellow onion, chopped
1/2 lb lean (at least 80%) ground beef
1/3 cup beef broth
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
1 bag (24 oz) refrigerated mashed potatoes, heated as directed on bag (about 3 cups) 

DIRECTIONS

  • Heat oven to 400°F.
  • Unroll pie crusts. Roll each crust to 12 inches in diameter. Using 4-inch round cutter, cut 6 rounds from each crust. Firmly press each round in bottom and up side of each of 12 ungreased regular-size muffin cups. Bake 7 to 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove from oven. Reduce heat to 350°F.
  • In small microwavable bowl, microwave frozen vegetables and 2 teaspoons water tightly covered with plastic wrap on High 3 minutes; set aside.
  • In 8-inch nonstick skillet, heat butter over medium heat until melted and hot. Add onion to skillet; cook, stirring frequently, until onions are translucent, 3 to 5 minutes. Add beef to skillet; cook 5 to 7 minutes longer, stirring to break up any large pieces; drain. Add broth, salt and pepper. Cook 3 to 5 minutes longer or until mixture is hot and liquid is absorbed. Stir in vegetables.
  • Fill each muffin cup with 1/4 cup beef mixture. Top each pie with about 1/4 cup of the warm mashed potatoes. Bake at 350°F 25 to 30 minutes or until crusts are golden brown and mashed potatoes are lightly browned. Let stand 10 minutes in pan before serving. Run knife around outside of each pie to loosen before removing.

According to the site, one little mini shepherd’s pie is 460 calories!

This would need to be lightened somehow and the only way I think of is to leave off the pastry dough. Fixing the pies in individual bowls would probably solve the problem of no dough. These are too good to let the calorie count keep you from eating one. Fix a salad and you have a good meal.

I used homemade mashed potatoes instead of store bought. For broth, I use Kitchen Basics unsalted & all natural stock. I love this brand because it is gluten-free and tastes great.

_________________________________________________________________________

Do you have a shepherd’s pie recipe that is your favorite?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment.

Tower's Travels

Capturing and sharing memories of places visited.

Wildflowers and Marbles

Finding Splendor in the Ordinary

Point University Marching Skyhawks

Excellence Determination Innovation

